User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Lightbulb Work In Progress: *Cavity*

I decided to post a separate thread to show my work in progress instead of posting in other threads. I've had a bad habit of hijacking threads lately, sorry about that.

I randomly got back into mapping and was inspired to make some beautiful skybox and lighting I studied from photos and videos of total solar eclipses and have this idea for a map. I was going to make the core in the center and have it EXPOSED from all sides for hoards of monsters to march down the hills from every direction! I was thinking of making destructible geometry in the map (movers). I do not have a name for the map yet other than it's initial filename for what the geometry resembles. Some interesting things I have done is I modified the CylinderBuilder brush builder to make random geometry by changing the radius to random values on each side. I also made 12 different versions of firepaint stars that twinkle and have different placement on each one and randomly applied different ones to the inside of a sphere to make the sky look more natural instead of a repeating tile pattern of the same star texture like I did on CTF-WC-Strongholds. For some reason FerailDragon's NW3 nukes look beautiful here. When I'm short of ideas it's a lot of fun hitting my summon everydamn naliweapons there is hotkey and picking it all up and blowing stuff up It just looks nice on the skyline. I spent a lot of time on the skyline trying to make the perfect gradient studying photos and trying to mix the colors right. I am just letting my imagination run... let's see how far it takes me. Well anyways TL|DR is over let's see some screenshots THEY ARE OUTDATED BTW maybe I'll add more due to the flavor of openGL driver I use so when I use the shot command I get THIS:

Anyhow here are the screenshots

And now I have the PERFECT Idea for a skybox lens flare script maybe I can imitate some blooming with the horizon orange so I'm off!